Plasma for Space and Aerospace Applications

24 - 25 NOVEMBER, 2022



Plasma is the fourth state of matter and is being widely used for many applications in different areas including space and aerospace applications. IPR has been  working on several technologies relevant to space sector such as plasma thrusters, ESD testing on satellite solar panels, plasma diagnostics, vacuum technologies, cryopumps, superconducting magnets, computer simulations etc. With the boom of space sector in India, the availability of such infrastructure, technologies, knowhow to industries is needed. Experts from space and plasma technology background will share their experiences that will provide an opportunity to explore plasma based technologies for upcoming space missions.


Chief Guest

Dr. Anil Kakodkar

Chancellor, Homi Bhabha National Institute; Chairman, Rajiv Gandhi Science & Technology Commission; Former Chairman Atomic Energy Commission and Secretary, Department of Atomic Energy


Guest of Honour

Shri. A. S. Kiran Kumar

President, Aeronautical Society of India; Chairman, Governing Council Physical Research Laboratory; Former Chairman, ISRO and Secretary, Department of Space; and Former Chairman, Space Commission


Distinguished Guest

Prof. P. I. John

Former Senior Professor and Founder- Facilitation Centre of Industrial Plasma Technologies, Institute for Plasma Research 



Dr. P. K. Atrey Chair
Dr. S. K. Nema Member
Dr. A. V. Ravikumar Member
Dr. Alphonsa Joseph Member
Dr. -Ing. Suryakant Gupta Member
Dr. Mukesh Ranjan Member
Dr. Nirav Jamnapara Member
Mr. Prashant Kumar Member
Mr. Akshay Vaid Member
Mr. Niranjan Vaishnaw Member
Ms. Falguni Shah Member

Local Organizing Sub-Committee Members

Members Members
Dr. Vishal Jain
Mr. Vijaykumar K Patel
Mr. Hemant D Joshi
Dr. G. Ravi
Dr. C. Balasubramanian
Mr. Gautam R Vadoliya
Dr. Ramkrishna Rane
Mr. Bhupendra K. Patel
Mr. Satyaprasad Akkireddy
Mr. Anand Visani
Mr. P. Vadivel Murugan
Mr. Sagar Agrawal
Ms. Purvi Alok Dave
Mr. Narendrasinh L Chauhan
Mr. Atikkumar N Mistry
Mr. Tejas J Parekh
Ms. Keena Kalaria
Mr. Naresh Vaghela
Mr. Ghanshyamsinh Jhala
Mr. Adam Sanghariyat
Mr. Chirayu Patil
Mr. Sooraj K P
Mr. Kushagra Nigam
Mrs. Nisha Chandwani
Mr. Harshadrai S Chamunde
Mr. Rohit Parihar
Mr. Parmesh Maila
Mr. Ramesh Danabhai Bhatiya
Mr. Nimish R Sanchania
Mr. Silel T Shah
Mr. Dinesh R K Nair
Mr. Hitesh R Suthar
Mr. Aktar Jamal
Mr. Satyaprakash R Kandada
Ms. Sukriti Hans
Mr. Parth Patel


Dr. -Ing. Suryakant Gupta    (Convenor)

Ph: 079-23269022

Dr. Mukesh Ranjan   (Co-convenor)

Ph: 079-23269013

Mr. Akshay Vaid   (Co-convenor)

Ph: 079-23269008

Program Schedule

Day-1: 24th November 2022

9.00 - 10.15 Registration
10.15 - 10.20 Lighting the lamp
10.20 - 10.25 Felicitation of dignitaries
10.25 - 10.30 Welcome Address Dr. Shashank Chaturvedi
10.30 - 10.45 Chief Guest Address Dr. Anil Kakodkar
10.45 - 11.00 Guest of Honor Address Dr. A. S. Kiran Kumar
11.00 - 11.05 Address by LOC Chairman, PSAA 2022 Dr. P. K. Atrey
11.05 - 11.10 Vote of Thanks by Convenor, PSAA 2022 Dr. Suryakant B. Gupta
11.10 - 11.30 High Tea
11.30 - 12.00 Key Note Address Prof. P. I. John
12.00 - 12.30 An Overview of Plasma in Space and Aerospace Applications Dr. Alphonsa Joseph
12.30 - 01.00 Plasma Thruster for Spacecraft : Present and Future Mr. K M Shanbhogue
01.00 - 01.30 Plasma Diagnostics and Anode Liner Material Erosion Experiments for Hall Effect Plasma Thrusters Dr. Mukesh Ranjan
01.30 - 15.00 Lunch followed by FCIPT lab visit
15.00 - 15.30 Space Sector Reforms in India Dr. Vinod Kumar
15.30 - 16.00 Spacecraft Plasma Interaction Experiment (SPIX) – An
Indigenously Developed ISO Test Facility for the ESD (Arc)
Detection on Satellite Solar Panels
Dr. Suryakant B. Gupta
16.00 - 16.30 Spacecraft Plasma Interaction Studies for Satellites – A Solar Array Prospective Ms. Krishna Priya Ganesan
16.30 - 17.00 Mechanical Design of Space Telescope & Interactions with IPR for PLASMA applications in SAC, Ahmedabad payloads Dr. Jaimin Desai
17.00 - 17.30 High Heat Flux Test Facility at IPR Dr. Samir S. Khirwadkar
17.30 - 17.55 Tea Break
18.00 - 18.45 DEPARTURE : FCIPT -> IPR
19.30 - 22.00 Director’s Dinner

Day-2: 25th November 2022

09.30 - 10.00 Plasma Thruster Activities at IPR Ms. Renu Bahl
10.00 - 10.30 Small Satellite and Potential Applications using Plasma based Technology Mr. Kranthi Chand
M/s Dhruva Space
10.30 - 10.45 Tea break
10.45 - 11.15 Experimental and Simulation Study of Aerodynamics Drag Reduction of Automobiles using DBD Plasma Mr. Rajan Babu
11.15 - 11.45 Satellite In-Space Propulsion Modules Development at Bellatrix Aerospace Mr. N. Rajesh
Bellatrix Aerospace
11.45 - 12.15 Business Opportunities in the Space Sector Mr. A. Arunachalam
12.15 - 12.45 Indigenous Cryopump for Space Applications Dr. Ranjana Gangradey
12.45 - 13.15 Neutron and Ion Irradiation facility for Space and Aerospace Applications Mr. Sudhirsinh Vala
13.15 - 14.00 Lunch
14.00 - 14.30 Plasma Based Surface Engineering for Space Application Dr. Ramkrishna Rane
14.30 - 15.00 An Alternative Way of RF Communication: A Reconfigurable Plasma Antenna Dr. Rajesh Kumar
15.00 - 15.30 CFD Analysis for Space and Aerospace Applications Mr. K. T. Sandeep
15.30 - 16.00 DEPARTURE : FCIPT -> IPR
16.00 - 17.00 IPR Tour
17.00 - 17.30 Panel Discussion, Feedback and Concluding Remarks Moderator
Dr. Nirav Jamnapara

Topics of talks to be given on behalf of IPR:
Overview of plasma processing activities at IPR relevant to space & aerospace sector; indigenous cryopump, plasma assisted coatings for satellite components, ISO test facility for ESD testing of satellite solar panels, plasma antenna, plasma thruster, diagnostics and materials characterization of Hall Thruster, Plasma for drag reduction, Neutron and Ion-irradiation test facility for space applications, CFD analysis for exterior ballistics and hyper velocities, etc.


Hotel Details

1. Narayani Heights
Contact Person: Mr. Mohit Tyagi
Contact No: +91 9227727016

Room type Cost (Single occupancy) Cost (Double occupancy)
DELUX ROOM 4000 + Taxes 4500 + Taxes
SUPERIOR ROOM 5000 + Taxes 5500 + Taxes
SUITE ROOM 7499 + Taxes 7499 + Taxes

2. Comfort Inn
Contact Person: Mr. Ghanshyam Goplani
Contact No: +91. 9925231974, +91 7922862200

Room type Cost (Single occupancy) Cost (Double occupancy)
DELUX ROOM 3500 + Taxes 4000 + Taxes
DELUX SUPERIOR ROOM 4000 + Taxes 4500 + Taxes

3. The Ummed Hotels
Contact Person: Ms. Ritu Mishra
Contact No: +91 7966661234 , +91 9227228959

Room type Cost (Single occupancy) Cost (Double occupancy)
DELUX GARDEN VIEW ROOM 6000 + Taxes 7000 + Taxes
DELUX POOL VIEW ROOM 6500 + Taxes 7500 + Taxes