Institute for Plasma Research is an autonomous R & D organization under the authority of Department of Atomic Energy (DAE), Government of India situated near west banks of river Sabarmati in Gujarat, India. This institute is largely involved in theoretical and experimental studies in plasma science including basic plasma physics, magnetically confined hot plasmas and plasma technologies for industrial application. The institute owns two operational tokamaks (a machine for controlling thermonuclear fusion) - ADITYA and Steady State Tokamak (SST) - 1. FCIPT, ITER-India and CPP-IPR, located in Gandhinagar and Guwahati are three divisions under IPR.

Prof. Predhiman Kaw

Association of Asia-Pacific Physical Societies (AAPPS), Division of plasma physics (AAPPS-DPP)  has awarded
Prof. Predhiman K. Kaw of the Institute of Plasma Research, Gandhinagar, Gujarat, the 2015 Laureate of S. Chandrasekhar Prize of Plasma Physics, for his seminal / pioneering contribution in the field of plasma physics.

ADITYA (hindi word meaning SUN) is the first indigenously designed and built tokamak of India. Plasma discharges at toroidal field of 8.0 kG for nearly 100ms time with 80 - 100kA current, are being regularly studied in this little replica of SUN.